Author Topic: Supporting my husband.  (Read 16582 times)

paulachappell

• View Profile
    • An Ounce of Heart Knowledge
Supporting my husband.
« on: May 29, 2010, 12:56:12 PM »
Hi Doug,  I am fairly new to FTSFand E.  I found out about your book through GG BranCrispbread.  I have been using them for 3 years now.  I am married to a type II diabetic and over the past several years have been witnessing his health spiraling downward at a rapid rate.  He has recently been diagnosed with diabetic retinopathy, neuropathy in his feet and just had 3 procedures for venus reflux in his legs after being found to have a large DVT in his right leg last October.  My husband is also named Doug.  He has already had 2 heart attacks and 3 stent placements.  Doug will be 55 in June but feels he is already old.  On the weekends he mostly just wants to sleep.  Right now I think he weighs about 300 lbs at 6' 2".  I told him about your book and he downloaded it and read the whole thing in one after noon which was very encouraging to me.  We have done the yo yo thing repeatedly with other eating plans such as Atkins and South Beach.  I lost 45 lbs on WW and have kept off all but 10 for 4 years now so I am planning on changing to your eating plan with him and hope to lose 20 lbs myself.  I do exercise regularly, he does not.  We do have a fitness club membership and use the elliptical mostly but his feet swell and that keeps him from wanting to do a lot.  This is Memorial Day Weekend and I am taking advantage of an extra day off to get organized and get busy with FTS.  I'm not sure why I felt the need to share this with you but this has been a very emotional journey for me.  I want to do all I can to help him but I know it is really up to him.  Hoping you can share some words of wisdom for our situation (thanks so much for the ones you have already shared!).  I think I could use a support group for supporters!