Author Topic: exercise and carbs  (Read 12032 times)

LAURIEXXX

• View Profile
exercise and carbs
« on: April 19, 2010, 04:34:42 PM »
Hello-

I am new to the program. I exercise 5 days a week that include pretty intense cardio and weights.  I do it because I like it and it's good for my well being.
I need more carbs to get through these workouts- but how much more can I have without sabotaging the eating plan? The book doesn't touch on exercise in depth.
Any suggestions would be appreciated- by the way I am a 40+ year old woman with about 10-15 pounds to lose.
THANKS!!

Doug Varrieur

• Author
  • Administrator
  • Commited to helping the world :)
    • View Profile
    • Best Weight Loss Book Ever Written! FAT to Skinny Fast and Easy
    • Email
Re: exercise and carbs
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2010, 05:20:53 PM »
Hi Laurie, welcome to the forum. Here's your answer, if you are stalled in your weight loss with your current workout schedule but not gaining weight then  you've reached the point in your metabolism where you are burning off the sugar you're taking in, no more no less,you've reached your sugar tolerance level. To start losing weight again simply start eliminating carbs from your intake. I would start by cutting total carbs in half beginning with all grains and flour products. This will leave the fruits in place for quick Glycogen. After a week of maintaining the current work out schedule with the reduced sugar check the scale. If your weight is not dropping start cutting more carbs until the weight starts to fall off. At this point you are now burning all the sugar plus FAT as fuel. Continue until you've reached your goal weight. At that point you can start adding a few carbs a little at a time until weight loss ceases but not gaining. You will once again be at the point of sugar tolerance for your routine. Keep in mind, if you change your routine and your exercise level reduces you must reduce carbs in proportion or you'll regain weight.