Author Topic: Sugar alcohols - always tummy troublers?  (Read 4921 times)

Neesie

• View Profile
Sugar alcohols - always tummy troublers?
« on: February 08, 2012, 10:24:55 PM »
Hey folks - I'm a newbie.  Lost 7.7 in two weeks (thanks, Doug!).  I tried a couple of sf chocolates the other day after dinner (Whitman's) and was very uncomfortable for a couple of hours.  Had one last night and was okay.  Is there an adjustment period where one builds a tolerance for reasonable amounts, or do they always cause intestinal rumblings?!

SarahC

• View Profile
Re: Sugar alcohols - always tummy troublers?
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2012, 11:52:37 PM »
Candy with malitol always gives me gas. I can get away with 1 once in a while, but if I eat too much too close together, I blow up! I've almost quit sf candy all together. It can stall your weight loss and create cravings for sweet stuff - and who wants that?

shawn116

« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2012, 12:38:02 AM »
Hi Neesie  Welcome to the FTS forum family!! 

I'd have to say that chocolate is one of life's best creations  ;D  Unfortunately the sugar alcohols aren't all the great on us.  Some days I can handle them but for the most part my tummy is a bit touchy.  I will say that some are much worse on me than others.  Maltitol is one of the worst culprits and is used most widely in products you find in the stores  :'(  I believe Whitman's uses it in theirs.  You might want to experiment a little and see which you can tolerate better though.   I have better luck with making my own and using xylitol or splenda.  Check this recipe out:

http://www.fattoskinny.net/index.php?topic=135.45  It's pretty easy and you can use different sweeteners if you like. (I've been experimenting with liquid splenda)   I'm pretty sure there are other recipes on the forum.  Just do a search on the home page and of course there is always Umpa and Doug's wonderful cookbooks  ;D