Author Topic: Stopping by to say Hi!  (Read 4546 times)

Violet

• View Profile
Stopping by to say Hi!
« on: March 03, 2012, 01:19:39 PM »
Hi All!

I am new to FTS and just wanted to stop by and say Hi!  I am really excited to get started!  Just finished reading the book and am hoping I am strong enough to make the change.   

I recently had my second child and developed a thyroid problem.  Not fun, but glad to say it is all stabilized and no longer on thyroid meds.  I am also on a low dose of antidepressant to calm my anxiety, lol!!   Because of the meds and the fact that I just gave up because no matter what I did I continued to gain weight I packed on 70 pounds.   My normal weight fluctuates between 184 to 188 and now I am at 256 and just hate it.  I am 37 years old and have been at this weight for 2 years now.  I am afraid if I don't do anything this is going to be the new me and I don't want that. 

Looking forward to making the change and getting back to the old me.

Got a couple of questions, is there a cap at how many carbohydrates we should eat a day, is it 20g?
Also, the opposite, is there a limit to how much protein we have a day?  I am assuming everything in moderation.

Any tips that you feel really helped you I would love to hear!

Thanks so much!!!

SarahC

• View Profile
Re: Stopping by to say Hi!
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2012, 01:41:26 PM »
Welcome to the forum, Violet! Stick to 20 grams of carbs or less per day - you're right, all things in moderation. You'll be so happy to see the numbers on your scales go down! It will work better if you make the committment to get off sugar and stick with it. If you go in and out of low-carbing, you'll stall out and won't have the results you want. Check out the wonderful recipes here - you won't miss out on a thing. Be really strict with yourself for the first little bit until you don't crave carbs, and then start adding things. You'll do great!

shawn116

« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2012, 01:54:38 PM »