Author Topic: Bumps in the road  (Read 2436 times)

scottinflorida

Bumps in the road
« on: January 30, 2013, 10:04:23 AM »
Well, not everything goes as planned, but we deal with it.

First, I had to get a new scale because the old one died.  Had that one for a couple of years and it was kind to me.  Delivered some happy news most Wednesdays.  The new one, a little different.  I don't know if the old one was being generous or if the new one has a mean streak, but now I have a few pounds to lose again.  No big deal.

Second, I made the difficult decision this week to not run in the half marathon on Feb 10.  I have been training for this race for about 6 months, but in the last 2 weeks have developed a case of "runner's knee" - more details here if you want to read about it.

My research has given me the information I need to know what to do to get past this (basically, I need to strengthen my quad muscles).  I have a series of specific exercises I will be doing each morning and evening, and this is what I will be focused on in February.  I also joined Planet Fitness yesterday in order to maintain my level of cardio fitness with some "knee-friendly" workouts.  Planning to start running again in March.  I have a plan so I know what to do.

So, yes I am disappointed in not being able to run in the race I planned for, but that's just the way it goes sometimes.  This may mean that my next major race could be my first full marathon instead of a half-marathon.  I will post updates.

mouseissue

• Global Moderator
  • Low Carb for Long Life!
    • View Profile
Re: Bumps in the road
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2013, 11:27:04 AM »
Hi, Scott! :)

Our weight changes constantly for many involuntary reasons.
Given it's impossible for our weight not to change, I wouldn't get overly concerned.
I think, for most folks, staying within about 2-3% of goal (i.e. personal ideal weight) is normal.

It's too bad you won't be able to run the marathon.